Sewing and other things…

p class=”mceTemp mceIEcenter”>This blog will not only be about my sewing attempts but it will also be about my other loves beauty, food, life, love…. why just limit myself to one thing right? So welcome to my very random world…

Let me introduce you to Dolly.

A--52_DCMAEnBfR<

Now I’m at the very beginning of beginners. Seriously the zig zag stitch seems to hate me.

Although I’ve attempted sewing classes at a local college as a fun course. It wasn’t very fun. Sometimes I hate doing things on my own and the class was over booked…. Also no one told me it was 'advised' you had your own sewing machine. I just wanted to give sewing a go to see if I was any good – not spend £100s on a piece of equipment which would be left to collect dust….I lasted 2 lessons – the stress of being at work all day and a very over booked class just wasn’t a good mix. So I quit.

I’ve decided to try to become a self-taught sewer..

7 thoughts on “Sewing and other things…

  1. Yay! I did the same thing in April last year and haven’t looked back. There are heaps and heaps of good resources to check out. I can send you some if you’d like!

    Good luck and have fun!

  2. There are so many resources online it’s dazzling. My mother taught me the basics of sewing but thanks to online tutorials my sewing AND knitting skills have surpassed her skill set! She will always be more precise and exacting than me but I am more adventurous and have a broader skill base! Good luck! You should also check out Craftsy I think they have a beginners sewing course and machine one too.

  3. oh thank you for all your comments. i cant wait to get started and be apart of this amazing and friendly community! all of your help is greatly appriciated – i hope other beginners find this helpful too!!

  4. We (the online sewing community) love helping out! Craftsy.com is a great resource, with some free classes as well. There are many great books available as well.

Leave a Reply

