Seriously I thought basting was something you did to a turkey…

My first clothing attempt … Burda (8155) skirt.

Falling lucky with the fabric which was found on a remnant stall and purchased for £1 I decided I was feeling brave and I was going to attempt and conquer the pencil skirt pattern which was recommended to me by someone on twitter.

I’m seriously loving the encouragement I get from social networking – I wish these lovely ladies where my neighbours! I would bake them cakes and everything!

So the beginning part…

I decided to trace the pattern, thinking in the future when I am a sewing goddess I could make different sizes for friends and relatives. Tracing the pattern was easier than I expected – some greaseproof paper, weights (house ornaments) a pencil and 30 minutes later I had my pattern pieces.

I started out with good intentions reading the instructions and following them with military precision….then I got to the zip and it may as well have been written in French – as I mention in the blog title I had to baste the zip (cue googling until I found the sewing meaning of the word!) but by this point the damage was done and my oh this is going well I am a sewing genius attitude took a knock! So I made up my own instructions on how to sew a zip! AND it actually looks ok, whoop!

So now I’m onto the final part which is the waistband, I swapped the order of sewing as I felt more comfortable doing something’s first then got around to the others. I discovered a possible problem…the waistband didn’t fit my waist even though I cut it to exact pattern size!!! So I’ve decided to re-cut it to fit me and ‘make it work’ with the rest of the skirt as the skirt fits just fine….for now!

I’m hoping after a little buttonhole googling the skirt will be finished for this weekend!

So fingers crossed the next post is titled – ‘ta-da’ my sparkly new pencil skirt (that I’m actually going to wear) and there is a million pretty pictures to show you all my efforts.

But for now here’s a sneaky peak of ‘work in progress’…

1

Thank you for reading and for all of your lovely comments… I can’t believe I’m on the verge of completing my first piece of clothing when last year I doubted if I could even sew a straight line!

3 thoughts on “Seriously I thought basting was something you did to a turkey…

  1. That cascade of the new vocabulary is mental when you get going isn’t it?! I am by no means an expert, just enthusiastic… I often find myself reading and researching than actually sew, pah… I am a happy lassie, so it doesn’t matter! Lovely to meet you, you’re added onto my Bloglovin…. looking forward to reading about your progress!

    The very best of luck to you!

    Bundana xx http://www.bundana.blogspot.co.uk

  2. Half of sewing is making it up as you go. =) Your zipper looks great!

    I often don’t put actual “waistbands” on my skirts (because I usually wear them without tucking in a shirt/sweater) – I just finish the edge with some self-fabric bias to make it look neat. Thankfully, there are no rules in sewing!

Leave a Reply

