‘ta-da’ my sparkly new pencil skirt…

My first ever pencil skirt…

IMG_2301

So finishing this garment had its good and bad points.

I succeeded in my first ever buttonhole attempt…then I got carried away with the lethal seam ripper and took half my waistband off opps!This was my second waistband as I thought the pattern size i had cut wouldn’t fasten around my waist. i have no idea why as the rest of the pattern fit me???

I ‘fixed’ it by cutting a small piece and sewing it onto the waistband, not ideal but it was my only idea other than to cut a whole new waistband.

IMG_2296IMG_2295IMG_2305

My lack of seam allowance knowledge lead me to have a light patch of fabric going down the back of the zip and skirt but I turned it into a it was ‘totally supposed to be there’ feature!

Cost of fabric – £1.50 from a remnant stall at the local market

Zipper – around 80p

Time – this was my first attempt at proper clothing so I would say longer than it should have, major time was spent not knowing what the pattern was talking about (see previous post about basing…)

Will I wear it – maybe to a dinner with the girls… if I wore skirts to work it would be a good office skirt.

Id love to have pretty ‘bloggy’ photos of me wearing said item but for now my beautiful assistant dolly volunteered.

What I think I will do to make it more me is maybe take it up a little maybe to stop it looking a little boxy ill take it in towards the bottom and in a perfect world maybe I wouldn’t have the light grey stripe going down the back of it… but its all a learning curve

6 thoughts on “‘ta-da’ my sparkly new pencil skirt…

    • oh great! i was wondering if there was anyone near me!!! its lovely to hear from you! ive bookmarked your blog!! stop by to chat anytime!! im always looking for new places to buy fabric etc in the north east!

Leave a Reply

